Selecting a random runbook server

Here’s a link to a blog post that piqued my interest before taking a class on System Center Orchestrator.

http://jmattivi.blogspot.com/2012/06/high-availability-for-runbook-servers.html

I attended a remote class on orchestrator, company and instructor name withheld intentionally, shared Jon’s blog post and posed the following question, “can you randomly select a runbook server?”

The instructor said no. I thought he was a bit short-sighted.  The instructor was a proponent of saying (and implying) that you don’t need to know PowerShell.  Do you really need to know PowerShell to use System Center Orchestrator?  Technically, no.  Now, that’s “technically” a correct statement.

However, if you are going to put forth the time and effort to attend a class to learn a System Center product AND advance your skillset, AND, better leverage a product’s features, you are truly doing yourself a disservice beyond belief.  I know that won’t float well with several out there.  However, it is my opinion.  But, you have to face facts.  We are in an industry where to excel above and beyond and to be “good” you need to educate yourself and take advantage of making the fullest use of a product’s strengths as you can.  This includes spending time after hours with your own testing, learning your own, etc.  Learning PowerShell is NOT THAT HARD.  Using the command line is NOT THAT HARD.  At least familiarize yourself with PowerShell, learn the basics and see if you can use it to your advantage.  I bet you can find LOTS of ways to use PowerShell in any IT environment.  Enough said, I’ll jump off my soap box, for now.

Jon Mattivi’s blog post really made me think about this a lot. “When I design my company’s Orchestrator environment, I not only want it to be highly available, but I also want to implement the DRY principle.  I also want to extend the high availability by distributing the work load as evenly as I can.  How do I do that?”

Jon’s blog post seemed too static for my tastes.  Nothing against Jon’s post.  It’s a valid alternative.

After spending many, MANY, hours in my own home lab with Orchestrator and learning the ins and outs of building runbooks and becoming more advanced, a light clicked and I decided to try this.

I responded to Jon’s blog post with my solution.

Here’s the idea in a nutshell.  To distribute your runbook workload evenly, you can set up a global variable for each of your runbook servers.

In my example, we’ll say those two global variables are “SCORCH01” and “SCORCH02”

Next, create your initiation runbook (for more information on what an initiation runbook is, spend the best few bucks you can buy and purchase “Designing Orchestrator Runbooks” by David Ziembicki, Aaron Cushner, Andreas Rynes, and Mitch Tulloch.  It’s a very affordable book.  It is very easy to read, and in my humble opinion, the best money you can spend on a book for Orchestrator and a must have for your library).  The price is very low and frankly, it’s a must buy just because of the price!  (No, I’m not getting any commission on that, just a friendly recommendation I don’t think you should refuse.  It’s like passing up a gas station that has gasoline selling at $1.00 a gallon.  You’d be silly not to stop and top off your tank!)

In your initiation runbook, add a “Run .Net Script” activity.  Change the language to PowerShell.  Add this one liner (replace the server names in quotes and subscribe to your global variables).

<br />$RBServer = ($Server = "SCORCH01","SCORCH02") | Get-Random<br />

Set up the activity to publish the $RBServer variable to the Orchestrator bus.

Add an invoke runbook activity and link the two together. In the “Invoke Runbook” activity, in the runbook servers text box, subscribe to the published data for the data returned by the “Run .Net Script” activity.

Now, when the initiation runbook activity runs, you’ll be selecting from a random runbook server! If you have more than 2 runbook servers, this becomes a bit more useful in selecting a server at random.

So, the answer is “yes” you CAN select a random runbook server when your runbooks run.  Wasn’t that easy?

One Response to Selecting a random runbook server

  1. Pingback: Selecting a Random Runbook Server – Part 2 – a Closer Look | Ted's Tangled Mind

Leave a Reply

