SCOM 2012 – Editing Product Knowledge Issues – “Could not load file or assembly ‘Microsoft.Office.Interop.Word’

Up until a few days ago, I have had nothing but constant grief trying to get the “edit” button to work with product knowledge in System Center Operations Manager 2012 since deploying the product. It has yet to be a priority.  So, spending any more than a few minutes on Google searching for this in the past hasn’t been very productive.

Here is the problem in detail:

After installing/satisfying the prerequisites, you will receive the inevitable message:

Edit Product Knowledge Error

After SCOM 2012 was deployed , I created a new custom monitor and attempted to add product knowledge and first received the error. This week, now a couple of months out from deploying SCOM 2012, I’m to the point where I do not want any further custom monitors created without having the ability to provide some knowledge information. So, off a “Google-ing” I go.

Now, let’s outline some important information. Review the prerequisites before passing go.

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/hh212900.aspx

These tidbits are critical:

  • The Operations console must be installed on a 32-bit computer. Adding and editing company knowledge must be done on this computer.
  • Microsoft Office Word 2003 with the .NET Programmability feature, or Microsoft Office Word 2007 or Office Word 2010 Professional edition (Standard edition is not supported.
  • Only the 32-bit version of Word 2010 is supported. The knowledge template will not work with the 64-bit version of Word 2010.
  • Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 Tools for Office Second Edition Runtime at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=74969. You must use this version of the Visual Studio 2005 Tools for Office.

I overlooked the first issue.

I already have all that on my management VM and management VDI. Both are Windows 7, 32-bit machines. I look at these two machines and verify the other prerequisites have been met. Indeed they were. I try to edit company knowledge, same problem.

After several days of searching, I finally found this post from June 18, 2012:  http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/operationsmanagergeneral/thread/aae19511-c886-4d00-8e6f-015707b177f8

I gave that a try and BANG! Worked.

Now, those that know me know I’m as stubborn as a mule and my thick head says to try it on my laptop.  Here comes the mean old buzzer a screaming away from the game of “Operation”.

Rule #1: “The Operations console must be installed on a 32-bit computer. Adding and editing company knowledge must be done on this computer.”

So, that was wasted time.  I have to use my management VM or my VDI.

Just a word of advice:  double and triple check the following as there will be MULTIPLE lines to delete.

Microsoft.EnterpriseManagement.Monitoring.Console.exe.config

Make SURE you have a backup of the original config and make SURE you only delete the lines FOLLOWING the /dependentAssembly  tag!

4 Responses to SCOM 2012 – Editing Product Knowledge Issues – “Could not load file or assembly ‘Microsoft.Office.Interop.Word’

  1. Charles Palmer says:

    I edited the XML file on my 64-bit PC running 32-bit Word. I had to delete more than a half-dozen occurrences of . After I did this, I reopened the console and it got me past the failed to open word prompt. The link above has had some additional comments that says it does work on Windows 7 x64 with 32-bit Word 2010.

  2. Thanks Charles. I’ve yet to get that to work on my 64bit machine. But, using the VDI and VM I have works just great. It’s good to know this does work for you, could work for others as well.

  3. Ken says:

    Thank you for posting this! I was at the point of completely uninstalling Office 2010 before trying this. Like Charles I deleted multiple lines and got this to work on Windows 7 64-bit with 32-bit Word. My symptoms before this was being able to edit 2007R2 knowledge but not 2012.

  4. Pingback: Error Editing Knowledge in SCOM 2012 | SCOM

Leave a Reply

